Dougp w bass

King’s X recently wrapped up their 2009 tour with an October 1st show in London, Ontario. While the band is taking some well deserved time off, Doug Pinnick (above) is already working on his next recording project. Over the next several months, Doug will be writing and recording as part of a new ‘supergroup’ called A.N.M., an acronym taken from the title of track 8 on Public Enemy’s Fear Of A Black Planet. The band’s impressive lineup is as follows:

  • Doug Pinnick (King’s X): Vocals
  • Jimi Hazel (24-7 Spyz): Guitar, Vocals
  • Rick Skatore (24-7 Spyz): Bass, Vocals
  • Spacey T (Fishbone, Sound Barrier): Guitar, Vocals
  • Greg Fulton (Rebels Without Applause, Cyclone Temple): Guitar, Vocals
  • Phil D. Fish (Fishbone, Wicked Wisdom): Drums, Percussion

This is not the first time that Doug has recorded with Jimi Hazel and Rick Skatore of 24-7 Spyz. Doug first appeared on their 1996 album Heavy Metal Soul By The Pound, lending vocals to ‘Love And Peace’ and ‘Yeah x 3’. He returned on their following album Face The Day in 2006 to sing the closing track ‘Stand!’.

Hazel profile

In a press release announcing the new band, Jimi (above) described A.N.M.’s sound as “some of the heaviest, funkiest and crunchiest music heard in a long time.” The band is currently in talks with various record labels and hopes to release their debut album by the summer of 2010. No announcements have been made regarding live shows but with a lineup this powerful, it will be difficult to keep them off the stage.

Reporting by David Sadof, Houston Music Examiner

Hat tip: W. Kamau Bell (thanks, brotha!)

For those of you wondering what A.N.M. means, check this video:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

About The Author

Related Posts

  • Yes! A.N.M….fighting ignorance one note at a time!